Saturday 10th May 2014,
All Hunger Games

10 Books Like The Hunger Games

Patrick Garde July 8, 2012 Fun Stuff Comments
10 Books Like The Hunger Games

Are you done reading the Hunger Games trilogy? What’s next? Well, we’ve compiled 10 books that we think feature similarities to Suzanne Collins’ masterpiece.


If you enjoyed reading her book, we suggest you check these other 10 books like The Hunger Games. Most of these reading materials are series catering to young adults under a futuristic world. A little bit of romance and the need to survive is present in these adventures. Some also highlights a girl protagonist that desires change.

 picture picture

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth
Divergent is the debut novel of Chicago, United States (US)-based author, Veronica Roth, and is the first installment in a trilogy that Roth commenced while studying at college. Set within a fictional dystopian world, the novel has received comparisons with the The Hunger Games trilogy in media articles, with both works featured in the “Young Adult (YA)” fiction category.

 picture picture

  • Gone by Michael Grant
Gone is a young-adult dystopian science fiction book series written by Michael Grant. The series is centered around the fictional Californian town of Perdido Beach. Every human 15 and older vanishes, and the town and surrounding areas (later named the FAYZ) are encased within an impenetrable bubble. Many of the people and wildlife develop supernatural powers. The books follow the exploits of various characters, mainly the protagonist Sam Temple and the antagonist, Sam’s fraternal twin Caine Soren.

 picture picture

  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
The Maze Runner is the first book in a young-adult dystopian science fiction series by James Dashner. The novel was published October 2009 by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House. The book is currently being shopped as a possible film project. James Dashner announced in November 2011 that he is writing a prequel to The Maze Runner titled The Kill Order, which is to be released August 14, 2012.

 picture picture

  • Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the wall and those, like sixteen-year-old midwife, Gaia Stone, who live outside. Gaia has always believed it is her duty, with her mother, to hand over a small quota of babies to the Enclave. But when Gaia’s mother and father are arrested by the very people they so dutifully serve, Gaia is forced to question everything she has been taught to believe. Gaia’s choice is now simple: enter the world of the Enclave to rescue her parents, or die trying.

 picture picture

  • Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
Life As We Knew It is a young adult science fiction novel by American author Susan Beth Pfeffer, first published in 2006 by Harcourt Books. It is the first book in the “Last Survivors Trilogy”, followed by The Dead and the Gone. When an asteroid hits the moon and brings it closer to Earth, life in Northeastern Pennsylvania will never be the same again. In 2007 it was named as one of the Best Books For Young Adults by the American Library Association and placed seventh in the Teens’ Top Ten vote, also run by the ALA. In addition, Life As We Knew It was a finalist for the Andre Norton Award, the Quill Awards and the Hal Clement Award.

 picture picture

  • Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
In America’s Gulf Coast region, grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts by crews of young people. Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota-and hopefully live to see another day. But when, by luck or by chance, he discovers an exquisite clipper ship beached during a recent hurricane, Nailer faces the most important decision of his life: Strip the ship for all it’s worth or rescue its lone survivor, a beautiful and wealthy girl who could lead him to a better life….

 picture picture

  • The Running Man by Stephen King
The runaway bestseller about the ultimate reality show. The year is 2025. The Running Man is America’s favorite television game show. Ben Richards is the program’s latest contestant- and the Hunters’ latest target in a rigged game of death.

 picture picture

  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Uglies is a 2005 science fiction novel by Scott Westerfeld. It is set in a future post-scarcity dystopian world in which everyone is turned “Pretty” by extreme cosmetic surgery upon reaching age 16. It tells the story of teenager Tally Youngblood who rebels against society’s enforced conformity, after her new found friends Shay and David show her the downsides to becoming a “Pretty”. They show Tally how being a “Pretty” can change not only your look but your personality. Written for young adults, Uglies deals with adolescent themes of change, both emotional and physical.

 picture picture

  • Matched by Ally Condie
Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander.

 picture picture

  • Legend by Marie Lu
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

 

We hope these books would satisfy your craving for the Hunger Games until the DVD is out on August 18th (which you can pre-order now) or until next year when the release date for Catching Fire is set.

Did we miss anything? How about you, what books would you recommend to Hunger Games tributes?




Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Pat is the co-founder of All Hunger Games which features news about the trilogy series as well as Hunger Games merchandise like Hunger Games poster.